The Not so Glamorous Life of a University Student

University of Stellenbosh, Stellenbosh, South Africa.
University of Stellenbosh, Stellenbosh, South Africa.

Right. So, I know it’s been a while but being a university student really stretches you thin. I mean, trying to keep your grades up, having a social life and getting some sleep. It can be draining. And, me, being the brave heart that I am decided to (in addition to all that) start a blog.

In today’s post I will be giving the average university chick some pointers as to how I cope with leading a busy student life.

#1. Diarize everything

I know this might sound as cliché as they come but the reason things are cliché is because they are often true. Go to your nearest store and get you a huge monthly or yearly calendar, whichever you prefer, and also a handy little diary (the small ones you can carry with you) and start planning your days.

#2. Set your priorities straight

Assignments, exams, homework. These are your priorities if you are a university student. Highlight them, Sharpie them in or whatever but just make sure they are big, bright and bold. Do tasks according to how important they are and when they are due, this is prioritizing. (You would be surprised how many students don’t understand this concept and would later say that they did that task first because they prefer this subject better that subject and I’d be standing there like, “Dude, that was due before this and you need to pass them all.”)

#3. Set reminders

I know this might come off as trivial but it is so important. I cannot begin to tell you how much setting reminders on my phone has helped me. I set reminders for my tutorials, lectures, practicals and even my gym sessions. Not only does it help me stay on time for my classes but it also subtly reminds me to not over stay my social visit of coffee with friends (oh, how time flies when your having fun).

#4. Sunday night

Sit with your diary every Sunday night. I do this religiously, it helps me plan out my week and helps me see where I have free time squeeze in a quick spa session (my ultimate favourite: sitting in the sauna and doing my nails, though not simultaneously) or a coffee date.

#5. Treat university like a 9 to 5 job

What I mean by this is that you should strive to do all assignments and tasks (university related) at university. Whether it’s in the library or the cafeteria, make sure you do as much as possible so you don’t bring the lot home or back to your dorm. This ensures that you have a bit of free time for watching series (Suits reruns for me), grabbing a coffee with friends or a spontaneous Wednesday night date.

#6. De-stress

The most important thing though: de-stress. Run, dance, write or whatever just remember to do this at least once every three days. It’s essential for your well-being and ultimately the breaking point between an education institution and a mental institution.

#7. Stay healthy

Eating healthy and staying fit is the difference between you surviving the day or you crashing at 4 the afternoon. Join a gym (they’ve got hot water for a shower in the middle of the day) or just have a health routine but make sure you stick to it, it really helps. You’ll feel more energized, fit, healthy and you’ll sleep like a baby through the night.

#8. Me Time

The last tip I’ll leave you with is to have your ‘Me time’. Having ‘Me Time’ is of the utmost importance because it let’s you unwind. ‘Me Time’ and de-stressing is not the same thing. Having ‘Me time’ consists of being alone with yourself; listening to some good music on your own with no hustle and bustle around you, reading a good book with a cup of coffee or simply just sitting and doing nothing. This is what keeps me sane because when I curl up with a good book, I simply forget everything and I escape my busy life.

This is how I handle my day-to-day shenanigans. I hope this helps some people out there, it sure is my saviour and I live by it. Let me know how you guys handle a hectic university/work schedule.

4 thoughts on “The Not so Glamorous Life of a University Student

  1. I loved readingsn this!! You’ve given some great tips that would be so useful to any student! #5 is something I was very bad at, but it would have been so helpful if I followed that rule!

    Lovely post sweety xo
    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

