The Envisioned Life of a University Student

As I sit in my university library I can’t help but feel the atmosphere. At a place where knowledge is gained, the atmosphere tends to be really thick, you could cut through it with a knife. The people sitting on either side of me has their head buried in some book furiously scribbling notes on little papers. They look frantic. They look like an intellectual. They look like they need a break and maybe a quick scrub.

University Students for me, were always fascinating people to watch. They always had messy hair with thick glasses, usually seen with a coffee in one hand and a giant text book in the other. They were enthralling for me to watch from afar. As a child, I wanted to become one. When I made that decision, mind you, I never knew what university life entailed, I never knew what being a student really was. I never knew what I wanted to study but all I knew was that I wanted needed to become one.

Now that I am experiencing it, quite frankly, it’s everything I envisioned. The long tiresome hours at the library is every bit as chaotic as I’ve imagined. The lecture periods where lecturers drone on and on in a monotone voice is exactly what I expected. The early morning coffees to keep you awake for the eight ‘o clock class is real. The thick text books with sticky notes sticking out in every which way with once important notes written in the worst scrawl you could think of is here, alive and well.

University life is every bit the challenging, cringe-worthy and genuine experience I’ve ever had in my life, and this is only my second semester but I love every second of it. I love the concept of learning new things at a place where everyone is doing the same. I love getting up at eight for a class because I look forward to my morning coffee. I can forgive the occasional monotone lecturer and I love that each and every single one of us that attends a university is doing so with an end goal in mind.

But most of all, I just love university, man.

~Poppie Tee

What are your thoughts on university life?  Do you love it? Hate it? Let me know.

Leave a Reply

