The Liebster Award

liebster2

Firstly, I’d like to get the formalities out of the way, so let me just holler at Aaliyah Zahra, hilarious author of Musings of an Indian Aussie Hijabi who writes blogs about, well everything (subscribe to her and you might just win a chocolate).

So, Aaliyah nominated me for the Liebster Award. When I got nominated my initial reaction was to squint suspiciously at the screen and immediately google everything I needed to know about the award. I was highly suspicious because I’m not the type of person you give awards to, I mean come on, I’ve only been on here a month or so. So, how is it that I can be nominated? Must be a cruel prank, right?

Wrong. Boy was I wrong. Turns out it’s a real award that only exists on the internet for bloggers to keep alive. After the suspicious eye-squinting and googling, I had mixed emotions. At first, I was elated (because an award? For me? Hell yeah!!) and then I got all mushy (because aw, someone nominated me, thanks Aaliyah *I say with tears in my eyes*) and then I was happy again (because yay, another blog post for me to write, I’m fond of those).

So, let’s get down to business, shall we? There are different sets of rules for the Liebster Award as it got changed along the way a few times but I’ll stick to the basics that Aaliyah has up on her blog post. First, link the person who nominated you. Second, answer the questions given by the nominator. Third, nominate 11 bloggers who have less than 500 followers. Fourth, compose a new set of 11 Questions for the other bloggers. Lastly, let the nominees know via social media. Simple.

So, let’s answer the questions Aaliyah asked me:

Who/what inspired your blog? 

Basically my writing and my sister-in-law. We constantly talk about writing, blogging, books and tea. I love the English language and I’m obsessed with the concept of 26 letters of the alphabet forming beautiful words that can move you tears or can make you double-over in laughter.

What is one quality you love about yourself?

The fact that I get excited at random moments for like a second and then I’ll compose myself and be my normal cynical self again. Seriously, we can be having a gravely serious conversation and then I’ll burst with excitement about a random thing that isn’t even that exciting and that happened weeks ago and it’s like I light up from within for like a split second and people would be thinking, “Oh, my word. She is actually going to grace us with her smile.” But then I’d collect myself in time and then just be like, “Meh. To much face muscles for a smile today, next time folks.”

What is one quality that you dislike about yourself? 

My shyness. I am an unbelievably shy person and that has always been a downfall in life. I miss so much opportunities in life, it’s quite frankly, becoming frustrating. For example this morning, I could have gotten that cute guy in cafes number if I hadn’t been painfully shy and avoided all eye contact (probably the reason my love life is in shambles). Sigh, oh, how beautiful you were.

What change would you bring to the world?

This question, oh, this question. I could write a book and this question still wouldn’t be answered. But to keep it simple I will only write a short answer: I’m a first year university student currently studying land development and environmental studies, the reason why I chose this was so that I can make a change in the world, (I’m anal about these things). I believe that in a small way, with conviction I will change some aspect of this world, whether it be the environment or the people but it will be done. So, I decided to study for a job that will, in a small way, bring change to the world somehow.

What are your favourite books/movies?

Gosh, this question. You can never ask a book nerd this question. Well, my favourite author is Jodi Picoult and the first book that I ever read of hers was Plain Truth. I was young when I read it and I fell in love, the book just blew me away. After that, I’ve been reading quite a bit of her books but my main genre is contemporary romance and suspense though I do tend to read the occasional autobiography or history novel. As for movies, my favourite ones are romantic comedies, comedies and drama. My ultimate favourite movies are Disney and Marvel movies with my favourite at this moment being Frozen and Thor.

Favorite food items? 

Did somebody say pizza? Yes, you guys guessed it but seriously, who doesn’t love pizza? Oh, and I also love, love, love Chinese food.

Who is your inspiration/role model?

I don’t have a set role model but I have different role models at/in different aspects of my life. My current role model is one of my university lecturers. She specializes in linguistics, she received her PhD at the early age of 28/29, she is super funny, she’s got extremely good taste in fashion and she is unbelievably clever. She is just the most bad ass lecturer I’ve ever had the pleasure of learning from. She is like the Harvey Specter of Lecturers, trust me, she’s that good.

What is one super power you would love to have?

Definitely invisibility. I would love it if I could just turn invisible the moment I do something embarrassing like yes, you guys would never be able to see how red as a tomato I get when I am embarrassed, what’s not to love?

What is your deepest, darkest fear?

Being reprimanded on stage in front of millions of people or tripping up there, I would be so clumsy and trip on my way up to the stage much like Jennifer Lawrence except I wouldn’t be as graceful and then I’d turn bright red and this is the moment my super power is supposed to kick in.

What are your hobbies?

Writing, blogging (obvious), gyming, reading and drinking lots of tea in big mugs with my pinky finger pointed (because I’m a lady like that).

Are you athletic? If yes, in what sport? 

I don’t consider myself athletic, I gym, yes but I do it to keep fit and lose weight but not as a sport that I enjoy per say. I like the concept of sweating, weird, I know but it lets me know that the workout worked and that I am doing something right.

For the next step in the Liebster Award, I know I’m suppose to have 11 nominees but as I tend to be a bit different and a bit of a rebel at times, I’ll only nominate 7, just for the sake of nominating. If you guys choose to accept then whoop-di-do! If not then still whoop-di-do!

The Little Blog of Stuff

My Passion for Little Minions

One Year in Rambles

TheLiteraryCouncellor

peaceloveanunity

The Joburger

Alys the Book Wyrm 

My eleven questions for you guys are:

  1. What is your least favourite food?
  2. How did you come up with your blog name?
  3. What is your pet-peeve?
  4. If, you were to be given a ticket to anywhere in the world, where would you go?
  5. What is your favourite topic of conversation?
  6. Which actor/actress would you most likely run away with?
  7. Which TV series/ book sequel do you most enjoy?
  8. Name one thing that you think needs to change in this world.
  9. What do you do to unwind?
  10. Do you prefer Apple or Android?
  11. Do you like sneakers or formal shoes?

Thanks for reading, If you choose to accept, may the blogs be ever in your favor.

4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I loved this post!!! I always wish I could be invisible when I blush! I hate it when people call me out on top of it and ask “why you’re turning red?!” I mean, COME ON!!!

    PS your sister in-law sounds awesome!!

    PPS Thank you for the nomination 🙂 I am so excited to get started on it! Xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

