Somebody say Book Challenge?

Fairly recently I was tagged in post by the spectacular Nihaad author of The Little Blog of Stuff. The challenge is basically to name your 10 most awesome books of all time. So, because I am catching up on my ‘blogging career’, I decided to do this challenge and while I was at it I decided to add in a few my thoughts on these books, two birds, one stone, aren’t I smart?

Before I dive right into it, I just want to clarify that my favourites change all the time because I tend to love something today and hate it tomorrow or in a years time, there is no in-between. Also, I’ve got a wide range of genres that I read, so be prepared. Now, without further ado, I present my 10 favourite books:

#1. The perks of being a wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

This is my exact thoughts after I was done with this book, which can be viewed on Goodreads:

“Everything about this book screams real life. It makes you think of the simple little things that we overlook and often regret in the end. Quite frankly, I never really wanted to read this book but the day I took the leap is the day this book changed my life. It made me open my eyes to things that I initially never wanted to open my eyes to.

It made me think of things that are beyond me, bigger than me. It made me stop questioning why things are the way they are, to just go with it and live it out, become infinite.

Things like worrying about first dates and first kisses was the order of the day in our youth. These trivial things were all we thought of in our teenage years. Things that if you look back on them now we’d think of them as petty. But, truthfully, it made us forget who we are at home, or what problem we are going to face at home because it gave us something to escape to, no questions asked. And these trivial, petty things are the things that makes us who we are and the scariest part of all is that we might not realise it…

“The perks of being a wallflower” really taps into what makes us human. A small little flaw distinguishes us to being a human being but that same little flaw is the one that separates us from the rest because in no way are we the same but then again there is no way we can guarantee that.”

#2. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard
Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

I was a bit apprehensive going into this book, as this is not my normal genre, I don’t do scientific fiction but I freaking loved it! This book surprised me on so many levels and I still can’t believe that I fell in love with it. For me this book had everything in; politics, a love triangle (or is it quadruple? Well, I think it might be) and fantasy. All in all, it’s just an awesome book to read.

#3. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

I read this little gem when I was about 11-12 years old (young, I know) and it really stuck by me as it was a book that had all these different points of views of these four girls that are becoming women and struggling with domestic life, true love and work. It also deals with gender issues, wealth and hierarchy. It’s a cute story, that’s heart-wrenching and gives you insight into the realities of the past.

#4. Playing for keeps by R. L. Mathewson

Well, this book is one of the most awesome(-est) books I have read. This book is so dangerously funny that it had me in stitches nearly all the way through. This book is the first of a series of books of it’s nature. The love-hate relationship that these two have is hilarious. When I originally read this book I was raving about it for months on end, it’s that awesome. I highly recommend it to anyone with a sense of humor and a romantic side.

#5. Gone Girl by Flynn Gillian

I read this book way before I heard it was being made into a movie but I must say it’s probably the best decision I ever made. The way this book captivated me is something that is beyond me, the amount of planning and research that had to have gone into this book had me in awe. I was enthralled by the way Gillian had us empathizing with the characters and the story line was just beyond remarkable. This book got me into the genre of suspense and I’m so glad it did because I ended up loving this genre.

#6. Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult

Obviously, a book by my all time favourite author is in check. I have already written a review on this book but of course I loved this book so much that it had to be in my top ten favourites. This is a very gripping tale of a lost little girl searching for her mother and coming to grips with harsh realities.

#7. I was here by Gayle Forman

I read this book recently and it really stuck with me, it actually inspired my first post. It is loosely based on a true story of a suicide. This girl searches for the truth about why her best friend who seemed happy, committed suicide. It’s not one of the best but it’s a really gripping tale that draws you in and makes you second guess everything that you do. The characters in this book seemed very real to me before I even knew that it was loosely based on a true story but it’s a good read, very revealing and touching.

#8. A different blue by Amy Harmon

This is a beautiful book that I think every person should read. It’s a palpable tale of finding yourself, finding love and acceptance in a cruel world that always stacks the odds against you. The story is grotesquely beautiful. The alluring nature of this story compels you from the get go.

#9. Rule by Jay Crownover

This book is the first in a series of books that I loved. I read this a while ago and if I read this now, my views would probably change but I would just like to stay in my bubble of naivety a little while longer. What drew me to this book in the first place is the character of Rule, he was just such an unpredictable guy that it made me fall in love with him and this book a little more as I got into it. Also, what drew me more was the bond that the group of guys in this book has, it is such a strong bond and I loved that about it, I think every person deserves a group of tight-knit friends such as the Marked Men.

#10. Dangerous girls by Abigail Haas

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas
Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

This was my most recent read and I, at first, never liked the beginning of the book as it dragged on but then I slowly started to get into it and I’m glad I did. This book threw me for a loop as I just got so into it that I thought I was watching a crime investigation channel on TV.

There you have it, these are my 10 books, hope you enjoyed me raving about them. I won’t tag anyone in this, if you want you can do the challenge and link me to it.

6 thoughts on “Somebody say Book Challenge?

Leave a Reply

