10 Things my mother has taught me

Mothers. We all have one. Mine’s just awesome in every way.

IMG_5768
Pancakes by the ocean – Sea point, Cape Town, South Africa

I’m at that age where I’m starting to appreciate my mother much more than ever before. As I have watched her over years, I have picked up a few tips that I think is really good and I am going to pass them onto you.

Always have lipstick in your handbag
According to my mom, having lipstick which is not only a moisturizer for the lips but brings colour to any grey day, is an essential in any women’s  handbag.

Never cry over spilt milk
My mom is a firm believer in what’s done is done. Don’t dwell on the past, you can’t change it. Learn from your mistakes and move on.

Always moisturize
Morning and evening; it’s sort of a drill with my mom. Whenever she washes her face and body, the moisturizer is soon to follow. My mother has flawless skin and I think that’s her secret.

Your heart is always the answer
If you’ve got a tough decision to make, always let your heart lead. No matter what the problem is. The heart makes you happy and the mind makes you practical.

20 questions
Get to know someone/something before diving head-first into a situation.

Be yourself
No one likes anyone who is not who they say they are. Be you and everything will fall into place. You’ll be a lot happier.

Dress up
If you’re feeling bad about yourself or anything; dress up, slap some lipstick on and strut your stuff, girl. You’ll feel so much better.

I come bearing gifts!
Never show up anywhere empty handed. Invited to a dinner? Bring a lovely dessert with, homemade or otherwise.

Water makes everything clean  
Also known as: don’t be afraid to get down, dirty and do the nasty i.e. manual labor, also known as “a man’s job”. That dirt can be washed off, you can have another mani-pedi later but for now there is no time to be afraid, complain or have a hissy fit. Get it done and get a nice soak in after.

You’ve got mail
That annoying chain-mail that the moms seem to love to send around? Read ’em. There is a lesson in there for everyone.

Oh, and an extra little tip: always have fun and seek adventure, a little bit goes a long way; make it count.

IMG_5643
Camps Bay, Cape Town, South Africa.

~Poppie Tee

3 thoughts on “10 Things my mother has taught me

Leave a Reply

