Hungry horses, evil eyes and throbbing hands

December 25, 2015

Early up this morning, wanted to run but decided it wouldn’t be safe as I do not know this place. Camera, apple, walking shoes? Check.

I set off down the gravel road because tackling the hiking trail alone today did not seem appealing. I wanted to see the animals. And, indeed, I saw animals.

At the office of this place there is a farm with mostly sheep, goats and horses. I first came across the sheep, cute little buggers, reminded me of Mary’s little lamb but good Lord, do they stink! And praise the almighty that they were in their little section with a fence separating us, I did not want to be chased by a sheep.

IMG_6212IMG_6209

Next was the goats. These buggers have weird, crazy-looking eyes and long-ass goatees. Reminded me of some bad guy in a movie playing his role real bad.

IMG_6208

The horses. Ah, gosh. Before I say anything further; let’s just establish that this would be my first up close (kind of) and personal encounter with a horse.

So, I’m there, snapping pictures of this one majestic horse with my huge camera and a half-eaten apple in my hand. I get bolder and move a little closer to the fence, snapping pictures, la-di-da. No care in the world when all of a sudden the horse looks up, looks me (I swear to God) in the eye and walks closer. At this point, I’m freaking out because this huge, majestic animal is coming straight at me. I. Am. Flipping. Out. In my haste to get away I almost trip. Almost. This huge animal is by the fence now and it looks like he could easily walk through it. I stand in the middle of the gravel road dead still, my eyes never leaving him and I fall. Hard on my bottom. I never understood how people could just fall over with doing anything and there I went did it, I don’t know how but I did it. Trust me to have a traumatic first encounter. And all the horse wanted was my freaking apple!

Now, I’m currently sitting sitting on a rock waiting for the world to wake up as it’s only 7 in the morning. I’ve been up for three hours already. What does the day still have in store for me?

So, the rest of the morning was pretty chilled. Slept for an hour after my traumatic experience and then we drove pass two ghost towns, came home and braaied, you know, the norm.

We came to our camping spot, ate huge watermelons and spoke of this and that. We decided to go for a short hike to, the reason the place is named 22 Waterfalls, the actual waterfalls.  We hiked for a short while and came across the first waterfall. Beauty. The  10 grand camera doesn’t do it justice.

Then we came across what I would from now on be referring to as the “stairway” leading to heaven. It even had a gate! Now, I’m not an experienced hiker, traveler or photographer. I had tried my best to go even further up but because going up alone did not appeal to me and I didn’t want to risk my family members’s lives (JK, I was scared out of my mind that I’ll fall to my death and that is not how I plan to leave this world). But anyway, we went up to the second one of the 22 waterfalls (I know, scary right? Hey, don’t judge the mountain is steep). Magnificent. Words cannot describe the beauty and I’m not even going to attempt to.

 

I was terrified going up and coming down that I’d somehow injure myself. But, alas, I came out unscathed until we were by the campsite and I cut my hand on a key. A. Freaking. Key. Are you kidding me? I could have laughed at the irony if my hand wasn’t throbbing right now.

After I got cleaned up and bandaged up by my mom. We ended the day with a bonfire, some crackers, popcorn and a steaming cup of coffee, not forgetting the ghost stories. With my feet (and hand) throbbing, I know today was a good day.

“Each new day is a blank page in the diary of your life. The secret of success is in turning that diary into the best story you possibly can.”
Douglas Pagels

~Poppie Tee

Leave a Reply

