Dramatics.

December 27, 2015

I intended to sleep late this morning as it is my last day. However, that did not go as planned, I woke before my alarm even went off and I couldn’t for the life of me go back to sleep. All because of that gushing waterfall. I know, I know, I should be at one with nature and all that but isn’t sleep also natures course? I know I’m being dramatic but I’ve been running on at least four hours of sleep a day. The only time when I do sleep is during the day with the flies bugging me.

Okay, I’m done ranting. With a cup of coffee in me and a few left over baked beans, I set off to start writing. Hear that? Contentment. Uh, no, wait, it’s… Barking. Dogs barking. Puppies to be exact. Escaping from their place of rest. Aw, they’re so cute! I bet their owners adore-

-Oh, my gosh. Those pesky little mutts. They ran right towards me! I couldn’t even defend myself. I ran right into my parents’ little camping spot, waking my parents up in a panic and hid in their little bungalow watching how the little puppies dismantled our camping spot from the safety of my parents’ humble abode. My parents went on sleeping when I told them what was going on, dismissing me and telling me that they’re just playful little dogs. Did they just momentarily forget that I am highly afraid of dogs? Ugh, those little buggers are not cute anymore. Oh, no. They’re Satan’s evil little balls of fur.

Once they were gone, I went walking again on my normal route but I felt jumpy all the way. The sheep were already out, staring at me like I ate their young. Who even eats sheep meat? I sure don’t. The horses kept on giving me the side eye, coming all near the fence as if to jump it and attack me. The goats were a bit agitated trying to escape to beyond the fence and to my dismay they succeeded. I ran back so fast not looking back. I do not feel safe. I know, I’m probably in the safest place and I’m being just a tad dramatic but still. Today is my last day and I don’t want to leave on a bad note. I’m determined to make my day better despite my morning.

IMG_6501IMG_6514IMG_6487

After my walk and when the rest of the world woke up, I decided to take a walk up to the waterfalls just to sit and take it in. I needed that. That felt good until I felt a spider climbing on me. Nope, I’m outta here. Went back to the camp site and we just lounged around, sat under the shade on towels and had our own little picnic. It  was nice. We went up to the waterfalls several times during the day just to cool off, once we made it back to the camp spot again, our clothes were dry again. That’s how scorching it was.

These last three days were phenomenal. Family time, nature time and writing time. What more could you ask for? I have learned so much about myself during these pass three days. I’ve learn’t that I’m a bit overly dramatic… Okay, a lot. These past few days has taught me to be thankful for family, that we’re in the 21st century, electricity, having all my senses, paved roads,WiFi and other mundane stuff that I take for granted everyday. Now, it’s off to work and a new me in 2016.

“But there’s a beginning in an end, you know? It’s true that you can’t reclaim what you had, but you can lock it up behind you. Start fresh.”
Alexandra Bracken, The Darkest Minds

IMG_6494

IMG_6519

~Poppie Tee

Leave a Reply

