It isn’t Enough

Dear mom and dad

Sometimes in life, you need a constant. It could mean different things to different people. And at the risk of sounding cliche, you guys are my constant, my rock. I doubt that’ll ever change for me.

All I want to say is thank you. But thank you doesn’t do justice to what you guys did and keep doing for me.

Thank you isn’t enough for the late nights spent up with me, thank you isn’t enough for the hard work, dedication, sweat and tears that went into raising a child like me.

Thank you isn’t enough for the band aids applied to scraped knees and bruised elbows. Thank you isn’t enough for the soft words uttered when repairing my bruised ego. Thank you isn’t enough for the gentle kisses that kissed my imaginary bruises as a child.

Thank you isn’t enough for the tireless hours spent working to put me through school, university and everything in between. Thank you isn’t enough for the hours spent at lame parent-teacher meetings just reminding you that you raised a good kid.

Thank you isn’t enough for the fun vacations that put a hole in your pocket. Thank you isn’t enough for the off days which turned into fun getaways. Thank you isn’t enough for the never ending adventures that never seized to amaze me.

Thank you isn’t enough for all the times we’ve had bread in the house, food in our tummies, never knowing what it is to go hungry. Thank you isn’t enough for the constant roof over our heads. Thank you isn’t enough for us always being clothed.

Thank you isn’t enough for your unwavering support. Thank you isn’t enough for believing in my dreams no matter how bizarre. Thank you isn’t enough for treating me like a queen and teaching me never to expect anything less.

Thank you isn’t enough for all the times I cried on your shoulders when my fragile heart shattered. Thank you isn’t enough for the beliefs that you passed on to me, making me who I am today. Thank you isn’t enough for being my first teacher, teaching me invaluable lessons that linger.

Thank you isn’t enough for teaching me to stand up for what I believe in. Thank you isn’t enough for the invaluable lesson of being firm. Thank you isn’t enough for teaching me that you don’t always have to blindly follow the masses.

Thank you isn’t enough for the late night teas and sweet somethings that was always constant. Thank you isn’t enough for the manners that is forever inculcated in me. Thank you isn’t enough for all the chores, lectures and reprimands that turned into lessons.

Thank you isn’t enough for showing me what pure love is. Thank you isn’t enough for raising me. Thank you isn’t enough for what I’ve become. Thank you isn’t enough for what I can still be. Thank you isn’t enough for the great job you did and are still doing.

You don’t deserve a simple thank you, it’s not enough. Thank you just simply isn’t enough. And because thank you just simply isn’t enough for all the times you were by side. I will try my best to prove to you guys how grateful I am to have you. Because I owe you a million times over and that still isn’t enough. But I’ll be damned if I don’t try in earnest to show you every damn day just how grateful I am because you deserve nothing less.

Sincerely,
Your youngest kid

~Poppie Tee

 

One thought on “It isn’t Enough

  1. This is the nicest post I’ve ever read. Its not everyday that youngsters of today’s generation have a mind set like you do. Young readers should really look up to you as a blogger. Even your niece said you deserve an award for your blogs! Keep blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

