Book review: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

nightingale
ˈnʌɪtɪŋˌɡeɪl/
noun
  1. a small migratory thrush with drab brownish plumage, noted for its rich melodious song which can often be heard at night.

The nightingale is a fascinating little creature, with a melodious voice that sings in the night keeping you from sleep, you just can’t help but want to listen. The nightingale is said to symbolize love and lost. Where there is love there is lost. 

Vianne Mauriac is sending her husband, Antoine off to war. She doesn’t believe that the Nazis would invade beautiful France but they do. Not only do they invade her country but they invade her home too. Low on food, money and with winter approaching, Vianne has to fight for her life and the life of her young daughter all under the watchful eye of the enemy.

Isabelle, Vianne’s sister,  as an eighteen-year old has every rebellious streak in her body. She needs a purpose and when she meets Gäetan, who believes that the French can fight the Nazis from within, she falls completely in love. But when he betrays her, she rebels in the only way a teenager can in a country that is war ridden. She seeks out danger, joins the resistance not caring about any of the deadly consequences.

And so an epic tale is conveyed of a story seldom told: the women’s war. Courage, bravery and grace is an evident theme beautifully woven into the storyline.

This book honestly floored me. I read this book a while ago but I just can’t seem to shake it and honestly, I don’t even want to. This book deserves a five star rating.

We often hear about war as men enduring hardship but war affects everyone. This story follows the women of the war; wives, sisters, mothers, daughters, it conveys their courage, sacrifice and strength in one of the darkest times of their lives. It does not just contain a love story but two. Be prepared to bawl your eyes out, I know I did.

The strong characters of not only the sisters but everyone in this book was beautifully portrayed by Hannah. Vianne and Isabelle both fought in different ways, they sacrificed, they portrayed courage and resistance, they loved and they lost.

This is a powerful story that conveys a powerful message. So, get that Kleenex box of tissues and tea ready, you’re going to need it.

DSC05211

~Poppie Tee

2 thoughts on “Book review: The Nightingale by Kristin Hannah

  1. I just started reading this book and already I can’t seem to put it down – it is BEAUTIFULLY written. On the very first page I highlighted a quote that I love, love, LOVE! I enjoyed reading this review. I am going to devour this book – slowly – just to give myself the time to soak it all in!

    Nihaad – Read & Seek

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you do. It is absolutely beautiful. I would love to say more about this book, to discuss it but I don’t want to give anything away. I’m glad you are enjoying it just as much and maybe even more than me, which I doubt because I loved it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

