How about that summer fling?

I’ve done a lot of romanticizing over the summer break. Yip, you’ve guessed it, I have been reading. A lot.

There is nothing wrong with reading a lot, I do it all the time. Some might think that I am a nerd but in actual fact I’m not, not really anyway. It has been a while since I have written a book post so I suppose now is as good a time as any.

So here is the next edition of Poppie’s reading and biased, crappy, really bad but also oh-so good honest reviews:

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perk.

Okay…? I don’t know, I think this book would have been an unbelievably awesome read if I had maybe been a teeny-tiny bit younger. The characters were sweet, normal, bitchy teenagers who are struggling to cope with school, love and life in Paris, first world problems. I got so irritated with the main characters, with the plot and with how they are both so fucking dense like honestly? I don’t even know. One thing is for sure this book reeks of teenage hormones that is subtly being romanticized. If I could give it less than one star on Goodreads, I actually would. 

Kyland by Mia Sheridan

I really love Mia Sheridan’s work. This book had me bawling my eyes out, I had so many emotions while reading this that I couldn’t immediately place them.The main characters are so raw and real, stuck in a life filled with poverty and their only way out is through a scholarship that is only given to one student in their rural town. Doomed by poverty and difficult circumstance, is love the only thing that can save them?

Lev by Aurora Belle

I was laughing, crying and just having a ball of a time reading this little treasure. Lev is different, he can’t process or understand emotion so when he literally catches Mina red handed he is caught in a whirlwind that he doesn’t understand. This was my first book that I really enjoyed that didn’t exactly have a twist. Lev’s character is so unintentionally adorable that he just makes you laugh. Geez, I was either in stitches or in tears whenever Lev said something in the book. This is honestly an awesome read. Definitely looking forward to the next few.

Consolation and Conviction by Corinne Michaels 

These are two different books about the same character. This was honestly a sweet story although it would’ve been better if it was one book. Natalie wants something she can’t have, she’s distraught having just lost her husband to war, a cute little new born and friends just wanting her to carry on with life, enter Liam, helpful, funny and caring. The cliffhanger was, WOW but it seems that having two books were unnecessary. I loved all the characters, especially the Navy SEALS, they were hilarious with their code names, inside jokes and witty comebacks. This is a nice beach read to totally get lost in but also stay grounded.

The Law of Moses by Amy Harmon 

My first book that I read of her was A different Blue that my friend over at Read and Seek wrote a review on a while back. Harmon has a particular style of writing that I love, she has got all these little bits and bobs of moral in her story. It’s heartbreakingly beautiful. Moses was literally found in a basket, he is cracked, no one understands him and no one wants him, except Georgia. She understands him, his need to paint and she just wants to love him but he doesn’t want to let her in. Be prepared to have your heart broken a million times over.

Archer’s voice by Mia Sheridan 

And, we’ve got another one of Sheridan’s novels. Whoop, whoop! I’m really into this lady’s work. The lost Town boy that everyone forgot about, that is still stuck with a big wound that never healed. Bree Prescott has one horrifying night stuck on replay in her head and it’s only the love of Archer that can set her free. A story about love, loss, fate and the regaining of power. This is a tragically beautiful story that comes highly recommended.

For more reviews from me where my true emotions are not censored as much, follow me on Goodreads.

~Poppie Tee

Leave a Reply

