And the Oscar goes to…

In relation to Leonardo DiCaprio finally getting that much awaited Oscar (aren’t we all just so happy for him, I mean he literally had to freeze his ass off in Titanic), I’ll be doing the same with awesome books that I keep on putting off reviewing.

So, without further ado… I give you Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn:

I read this book when there wasn’t really much hype about it, which was good for me as a had time to form my thoughts and not be bombarded by societies irrational (and unnecessary) thoughts. When I finished this book, the first thing I did was recommend it to anyone even remotely interested in reading. It was that good. The story kept me enthralled, I was biting my nails on the edge of my seat. The story follows Nick and Amy Dunne’s aesthetically tragic relationship as Amy disappears on the day of their fifth anniversary. The story unfolds with all sorts of lies, deceit and inner turmoil that is perfectly captured by Flynn. Flynn has a knack for writing complex and highly interesting characters and Nick and Amy were no exception. Definitely, giving it five gruesome stars.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn

So, what’s my obsession with the dark world, you ask? This. These gems that are so perfectly horrendous. Flynn does it once again with her beautiful, beautiful writing and ability to capture my scrutinizing gaze. This one centers around Libby Day, the only member to survive her brother’s massacre of the family. She meets up with the underworld to conjure up what really happened that fateful night. Everything is questioned and of course in sordid detail as only Flynn can do.

Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult 

This is one of my first books of Jodi that I have read and that folks is how I became a fangirl of Jodi Picoult. This book had me so enthralled. I was young when this book happened upon my hands but I would never forget the lasting impact that it had on me. When an infant is found dead in an Amish community, the mother, an eighteen year old, unmarried, Amish girl is then arrested. A high-profile defense lawyer takes on the case, living there she becomes aware of some harsh realities and the value of family and the bond between mother and daughter.

There are many more books out there that are Oscar worthy but for now these are my old gems that are now finally getting their much deserved Oscar. What are your Oscar-worthy books?

~Poppie Tee

Leave a Reply

